20 November 2011: A Simple Murder, available in paperback soon

Posted: November 20, 2011 in Uncategorized

Still don’t have a Kindle? Don’t care for the e-book reading experience? No worries, you can still enjoy that traditional feeling of holding a book in your hands (Tom Bissell would appreciate that, I’m sure). In addition to tomorrow’s Kindle release of A Simple Murder, in a few days, you’ll be able to buy it in paperback.

I’ll admit, I still enjoy holding a solid book in my hands; I’m old-school enough to appreciate it. I read at bedtime nearly every night and have kept a book bedside for as long as can remember.

But the Kindle experience not only does a good job of recreating that experience, it enhances it some ways. I’m notorious for reading with a highlighter in my hand, especially if I’m reading nonfiction. Not sure where I picked up the habit, but it’s what I do. Problem is I can never remember where I put the highlighter. With the Kindle, it’s always there — you can highlight text. You can also save “clippings,”  and bookmarks passages, same as a solid book.

But what I like the most is the ability to take a mini-library with me anywhere using the size of, essentially, one paperback. This is a huge space-saver when traveling, especially when flying. And you can shop for new books from the Kindle.

No, this is not a paid advertisement. Just saying, I thought I would never give up the look and feel of “real” books for the electronic version, but I’m learning to like it.

I’ll post a link to the paperback version of A Simple Murder soon, so subscribe or check back in daily.

Leave a Reply

